Keeping it Real

The fact that I started an Instagram page dedicated to yoga has allowed me to make connections to other females in my area that enjoy yoga as well.  While I haven’t been as super duper consistient on my mat as I have been in the past, I am getting back to it.  This candida diet has taken up so much of my brain space and energy, hello low carbs and constantly meal prepping.  I have also dedicated it to my candida diet struggles, which has been helpful to find a tiny community of other people surviving off of meat and lettuce…lol.  Okay, that was a bit dramatic, but it does feel like the food window is super small.

Anywho, I think it has been a super dope way to meet up with like minded people.  I have already made some connections and I’ll be meeting up with another yoga lady later in the month for a class and some tea and a chat!  I’m super excited about that.

I enjoy getting to know real people going through real things, so that brings me to my point of keeping it real.  I understand that IG is an avenue to help out in regards to income.  In the beginning, I thought that it was just how it was, but I am constantly seeing ad after ad after ad from people that I originally thought were super authentic.

I use products and tag them all the time, just because they work for me and I like them and I like to educate others. I’m not getting paid, I just want to help.

The more I see the more I am shying away from and unfollowing people that are “influencers,” because it doesn’t feel real to me.  Are you really practicing or did you get paid to take that pic in that outfit and eat that food on camera that really tastes like dog shit?

I will never knock anyone’s hustle (you better get that paper, life isn’t cheap and neither is that yoga mat),  but for some reason, it is rubbing me the wrong way suddenly.  Consumerism is such a thing in America and I really feel like we need to get back to basics of dialing in to each other and not dialing into so much stuff, or the hot new yoga pants or tummy tea or whatever.

I feel like so many of these people go to events to get their free swag or meal, post a few pics of how amazing it was and then never go back to that place again.  My yoga studio is one of those places that were reviewed and I have yet to see that person come near a class again.  It was probably free advertising for my studio (which is just now a year so still working on marketing and I understand that), but I don’t want to read an article from a one-time, staged class.  I want to hear from the people that are sweating and making it happen on a regular basis and growing.  I trust that review.

It makes me happy to follow other yoga challenge folks that struggle to get on their mat everyday and share in their journey with them.  I love to follow the new yoga journeys, I love to follow the seasoned yoga journeys that are literally just there to learn and inspire.  I love to follow the new yoga teacher training people. I even love to follow the people that are established, but when I start to see more ads than vibes, I have to be out.

Leave a comment