Yoga Changes

Daylight savings time has never been my friend.  I struggle to get up in the morning anyway, and now I’m being asked to get my shit together by the light of the moon.  I say all that to say, I was EXHAUSTED yesterday and my tummy was super upset from lack of sleep or stress from going back to work after a whole week off.

Upon coming home, with a house full of boys (my husband was home, our nephew has been with us a couple of days to start his break and two of my husband’s friends came to watch some soccer match), I went straight to my room to nap for two hours.  It was a half-ass nap, due to the tummy still aching, but it was rest.  I got up and got dressed for Ashtanga Monday, fed the dogs and sleepily went to my car.

I walk up the stairs to the yoga studio to discover none of my Ashtanga friends and Crystal, a new instructor who is a VERY new instructor.  Apparently, they last minute switched Ashtanga for a gentle flow class since she was available to sub.  At first I was kind of annoyed because I crave my Ashtanga class, but my sleepy behind was like, “Girl, you need to chill out, because you were going to struggle through Ashtanga anyway since you are drained and not feeling well.”

Good call, me.  Gentle is what I needed.  Now, I’m still getting used to Crystal, as she JUST started and I’ve only taken one of her classes, but since that class was just on Thursday, I basically remembered the flow she did then and she did it again.  Ashtanga is the same poses, which I enjoy, but I also enjoy the balance and randomness of my gentle classes.  Jenny take the class where the class energy goes, it’s different every time.  Same with Jessica, who is probably taking a much needed break after busting her ass to get this studio off the ground, but with Crystal being so new, she seems to be leaning on structure and I’m not sure how I feel about that.  She’s super sweet though.

Being still very new to this practice myself, I don’t really have room to judge her and her abilities, but apparently, I get into my groove and routine and I don’t really love surprises in that regard.  I love Jessica and Jenny and Sarah and I feel their experience and knowledge and love of the practice.  Maybe it’s just because I don’t know Crystal yet.

I also need to take the practice for what it is. If I do the same thing every single Thursday with her (since she has now taken over that class), I need to just do it and make it MY practice.  Find things that she always gives us and work on going deeper into those postures.  Doing the same thing won’t hurt me since I’m not a master at this AT ALL.

I notice that Jenny has a sub on Wednesday, so I’ll get to experience a brand new person on that day.  Jenny’s class is always so full of joy and laughs and that is a pick me up in the middle of the week for me, but I will focus on getting to know this new person and focus on me and what I’m doing.

I need to get to a place where I am just showing up and not tying my practice to any one teacher.  I have understanding of body positioning in the common poses, so I need to work on shutting out the outside relationships and develop a relationship with me and my practice.  It’s not about who is running the class.  It’s about the energy created in the space and in my body.  Looks like I just learned a new thing about me and my practice and it gives me more to work on!

Sidenote: With Spring beginning soon, I have decided that it’s time for another cleanse.  The last one I did was about 7 years ago and it was intense, but I did it.  So for this cleanse, it will be no sugar and no dairy for 21 days.  I feel like I need a whole system reset.  I am eating and drinking all of the sugar out of the house this week…lol.  I can do this and this will be yet another way to say thank you to my body!  It does so much, it certainly needs a break from working so hard.

Leave a Reply

